Residents Are Invited to the Annual Town Meeting

Focus on Collaboration to Serve Residents’ Needs
All residents are invited to the 164th Annual Town Meeting, which will be held on Tuesday, April 16 in the Auditorium at the Community Recreation Center in Wilmette.  The reception will begin at 6:30 p.m. with the program starting at 7:30 p.m. The Annual Town Meeting is one of the oldest traditions of Township government in which all Illinois Townships meet on the same day in April to review the official business of Township government. It is a unique occurrence in that registered voters rather than the elected officials vote on agenda items.
Former Congressman Bob Dold to Deliver Keynote Address
This year, a highlight will be keynote speaker Bob Dold, former representative from Illinois’ 10th Congressional district, small business owner and long-time Township resident. Having been a public servant himself, Congressman Dold is knowledgeable about the cooperation necessary for government to function. He will share his insights into the role of Township government and the collaboration that is the foundation of success. Congressman Dold will also address the changing face of government at all levels and his vision for the future.
Agenda Includes Presentation of Township Accomplishments and Some Exceptional Residents
The theme for the Annual Meeting will be Township Government: Success Through Collaboration. The collaboration that takes place between the Township and local agencies enables the breadth of services available to residents. That same spirit of collaboration permeates every level of the operation including the cooperation with volunteers, donors, residents, and of course the trustees and staff. Residents who attend the meeting can look forward to reports delivered by elected officials Supervisor Patricia Cantor, Clerk Jerome Hoynes, Assessor Martin Houlihan and Trustee Alan Goldberg.
Another much anticipated agenda item is the presentation of the George E. Noyes Community Spirit Award, Supervisor’s Award, Superior Service to Persons with Disabilities Awards and Peer Jury Scholarship. We will also be honoring the service of retiring Supervisor Pat Cantor, Assessor JoAnn Shrier Gordon, Collector Joe Fell and Trustee Alan Goldberg. These elected officials will be awarded the Township Excellence Award in acknowledgement of the valuable contributions they have each made in their various roles serving the Township.

The Annual Town Meeting is always a festive event combining Township business with a celebration of Township government and the New Trier Township community. Please save the date and plan to join us for this enjoyable and informative gathering. 

739 Elm Street, Winnetka, Illinois 60093 P. (847) 446-8202 F. (847) 446-1743
© New Trier Twonship. All Rights Reserved.