Township Residents Are Invited to the Annual Town Meeting

Focus on Community Partnerships to Serve Residents’ Needs
All residents are invited to the 165th Annual Town Meeting, which will be held on Tuesday, April 8 at the Winnetka Community House. The reception will begin at 6:30 p.m. with the program starting at 7:30 p.m. The Annual Town Meeting is one of the oldest traditions of Township government in which all Illinois Townships meet on the same day in April to review the official business of Township government. If you have never attended an Annual Town Meeting, we strongly encourage you to join us for this festive and informative evening.
Northwestern University Vice President for Athletics and Recreation Jim Phillips to Deliver Keynote Address
Dr. James J. Phillips is a township resident, Vice President for Athletics and Recreation of Northwestern University and longtime supporter of Township programs. He is personally and professionally committed to giving back to the community. Dr. Phillips, a leader in his field recently elected to serve as President of the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) for the 2014-15 term, will speak on the subject of the responsibility of individuals and organizations to contribute to the community. Join us to hear Dr. Phillips share his insights on the value of a mutually beneficial relationship between the University and its surrounding community. Dr. Phillips is an ardent believer that all residents have a role to play in perpetuating the success of Township programs in support of our neighbors.
Agenda Includes Presentation of Township Accomplishments and Awards to Noteworthy Residents
A major focus of the meeting will be presentations on the accomplishments and challenges of the Township given by Supervisor Brennen, Trustee Hamilton Chang, Clerk Jerome Hoynes and Interim Assessor JoAnn Shrier Gordon. The theme for the Annual Meeting will be Honoring Community Partnerships. The work of the Township is made possible by support from a broad range of individuals and organizations. The Township will use this year’s Annual Town Meeting as a platform to feature those who make Township programs possible through their support.

In that spirit, a Friend of the Township Award will be bestowed upon The Grand Food Center in recognition of their long-term commitment to the Township Food Pantry. They are a major contributor to the Food Pantry and have helped the Township meet need which has tripled over the last three years. The Supervisor’s Superior Service Award will be given to Barry Hoobler in honor of his many years of dedicated service on Advisory Committees. A third award, the Peer Jury Scholarship, will be awarded to New Trier High School senior Stephanie Kurensky. Township Excellence Awards will be given to Sandy Dalkin and Pete Schellenbach upon their retirement after giving many years of committed service to the New Trier Citizens League. Finally, the Township will acknowledge recently retired Collector Joe Fell with the George E. Noyes Community Spirit Award. 

739 Elm Street, Winnetka, Illinois 60093 P. (847) 446-8202 F. (847) 446-1743
© New Trier Twonship. All Rights Reserved.